which digital circuit should i use?

Blerona

Joined Jan 2, 2015
I need some help to start my project :/ I have to project a circuit that generates ASCII code for my ID. (ex. 141571634)
For the first combination in input, the circuit will generate the first number of the ID in binary code, then for the second input, the second number of the ID and so on.
Thank you very much!

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Is this a school project? If so, it should be moved to "homework forum".

You want to build just one where the ID code is known apriori, or a generic device that can store and generate any one of thousands of codes?

Is it supposed to transmit the code serially, or 8-bits at a time?

What techniques are you allowed to use? (Microprocessor, UART chip, discrete gates,)?

Blerona

Joined Jan 2, 2015
the assignment wasn't given with a lot of explanation and i'm a beginner in this field, i think just one where the ID code is known apriori

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
the assignment wasn't given with a lot of explanation and i'm a beginner in this field, i think just one where the ID code is known apriori
To do this project, you will need to learn something about the following list of topics:

Finite State Machines
Counters
Read-only-Memory
Digital Logic
Clock Oscillator
ASCII encoding
ASCII serial transmission (if required)
Handshaking

Tell us what you have studied?

Blerona

Joined Jan 2, 2015
i am a freshman year, in computer science, we have learned combined circuit so far so it is all about multiplexers, encoders, decoders, demultiplexers, converters etc.
p.s i'm new in this forum, i'm sorry for my mistakes.

ardianlumi

Joined Jan 2, 2015
To do this project, you will need to learn something about the following list of topics:

Finite State Machines
Counters
Read-only-Memory
Digital Logic
Clock Oscillator
ASCII encoding
ASCII serial transmission (if required)
Handshaking

Tell us what you have studied?

We didn't learn, nothing from what you mentioned.