Where to go from here...

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by Nick S., Feb 25, 2015.

1. Nick S.

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 25, 2015
    I'm a relatively new electronics hobbyist in high school and was wondering what are some good ways to learn electronics. I've read the beginning sections of "electronics for dummies" up to the integrated circuits section. I'm also reading Make: electronics and doing the experiments along with it, but I still feel like I can't do much designing circuits on my own. For example, for a while I've been trying to make my own designed oscillator without using integrated circuits or relays. I don't know if thats a really hard project to a beginner but it felt too hard for me and couldn't do it. I've also tried to make some other things, but oftentimes they just don't work. I think I've gotten down a lot of basic electronics theory, but I don't have enough experience when it comes to actually making circuits. Any suggestions on how to continue or what the best resources for learning are? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

2. alfacliff

Dec 13, 2013
    find like minded enthusiasts in your area. local ham radio clubs can be helpfull, a lot of people in electronics got a start in ham radio.

3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Learning to use a Spice simulator may help you. That would allow you to experiment with many different circuits, from a simple RC passive filter to one performing complex functions, without having to buy the components, and it's much faster than building it.
    It also allows you to view all voltages and currents in a circuit (which is difficult or impossible in a real circuit) to help understand how the circuit works (and why it may not).
    Many on these forums use the free simulator LTspice from Linear Technology. It has a somewhat steep learning curve but it has a tutorial and many example circuits to help get you started as well as a Yahoo users group.