Wheatstone bridge circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by kai88, Jan 26, 2010.

1. kai88

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 26, 2010
    Newbie here ..I would like to ask whether the dc/ac wheatstone bridge circuit is power source dependent/ power source independent( some sort like ratiometer type).What i mean is will te indicator(replaced the Null-meter) change its value if the power source varies? TQ in advance..

Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
  2. Metalfan1185

Sep 12, 2008
    I know a wheatstone bridge is a very sensitive way to find a resistance value by balancing a meter with voltage dividers.

in this sense, i would think that no matter what the voltage changes to, the correct resistance would always be needed to "Balance" the meter at the center of the bridge.

I havent seen too many of these though, maybe someone else's input could benefit you more.

3. kai88

Jan 26, 2010
    Thanks...Any more inputs?

4. BillB3857

Feb 28, 2009
    My thought is that the higher the excitation voltage, the more sensitive the bridge. Having the excitation voltage 10 times higher would be like making the same meter 10 times more sensitive. The bridge works on a ratio principle. The same percentage output of a higher voltage results in a higher output voltage. Of course some will say the bridge is balancing currents but the same principle applies.

5. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    As Bill said: the output of a bridge is directly proportional to excitation voltage, i.e. ratiometric....

6. kai88

Jan 26, 2010
    I understood that the higher the supply the higher sensitivity.

Is it true that if the Input voltage varies due to instability or i purposely increase the input voltage by a significant amount ,then my indicator value will oso change?Will it show 4unit instead of 2 unit(initial value) after i double up the voltage input?

7. kai88

Jan 26, 2010
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Lets read the article..

8. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009