Whats wrong with the Electronics field where is the repair shops and trade?

JohnVladEasternTiger

Joined Feb 27, 2010
Hi gang, I love electronics and working and learning with breadboards and making circuits, working with components and using various testers.

I am a newbie in this hobby and Im wondering where are the television and electronic service and repair shops we used to have in the country? Im speaking for the UK but im sure its the same in the USA Canada and Australia etc.. I remember about 10 years ago I went in to a great service center and they were 3 guys working on monitors and had a full supply of televisions computers and other electronic devices to repair, they were highly skilled in their trade, so where is it all and how do you put your electronic hobby and skill you have to use in a trade where you can make money from it?

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
mass manufacturing has rendered those shops obsolete. The 'computer repair guy' came after, but they have all but dried up. On a hobby level it's all about personal satisfaction.

'Make money at it' is something all together different, now your talking professional. Industry still has a ton of old stuff, and all the new stuff. Instrumentation or any of the maintenance trades will put you on the right block

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
Most repair shops are just shipping points now. They return the product for a new one. As for actual repairs, the big chains have some, but they are usually huge warehouses.

IE, Ritz camera has a camera repair service. It is a huge warehouse with 300 employees fixing cameras. There is no public access.

Its a shame, It was great fun, 25 years ago, watching artists at work. I remember wondering how in the world they knew what to do. I thought it was a born talent. I didn't know there was enough time in the world to learn all that was needed to understand IC's and the such.