What were you doing at the age of 24?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by mitko89, Jul 29, 2014.

1. mitko89

Thread Starter Member

Sep 20, 2012
    I'm currently a technical writer for one of the bigger consumer electronics companies in my country. Recently I earned my master in Electronics. I know I have some gaps to fill, but I have 2 years of experience as a test engineer, few months as firmware developer and soon to be an year as a tech writer. Technical writing is something I can deal with without much of an effort, but it's boring to me, yet when I compare myself with the hardware designers in the company I see the experience gap. As for the firmware, I can manage, but my lack of true experience (haven't implemented OS, CANs and stuff in professional projects) draws me behind... Could some of you give me a piece of advice on what to do get myself relevant for a good positions as embedded system programmer? I mean, shall I create a project portfolio or something like that? I'm 24 and already see people expecting 2+ years of professional experience for any position ... I feel stucked.

Last edited: Jul 29, 2014
  2. JoeJester

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 26, 2005
    At 24, in 1977, I was approaching my fifth year in the U.S. Coast Guard. I was a First Class Petty Officer in the Electronics Technician rating, advanced to that grade one month before my birthday. That summer I transferred from the overhaul and repair shop in Brooklyn, New York to the Loran Station at Simeri Crichi, Italy. As the ET1, where I supervised the other ETs in the repair and maintenance of the equipment to achieve the requisite usability (99.7% or better) of our part of the Mediterranean Loran-C chain.

3. mitko89

Thread Starter Member

Sep 20, 2012