What switch can I use for passing positive or negative cycles of Alternating Current?

electroman85

Joined Aug 15, 2011
I know this is a very silly question but, i am somewhat knew to power electronics.

I am building an electronic circuit, and now i need to control the direction of the current flow, for which diode cant be used.
So which switch can I use to pass either positive or either negative cycles of AC - triac, scr, mosfet, any other ??

Like in one path i need to conduct with a switch which will be closed during the positive half cycle of AC, and open during the negative half of ac.
In another path i need the switch to close during negative and open during positive.

Also it should allow the entire positive or negative half cycles to flow when closed.
Also the control signal is from the AC signal itself.

I know for dc , i could have used npn and pnp bjt transistors for this actions.
But for ac, what should i use.

Thank You

I am new to electronics to. I think you can do that by using a diode, connect the diode in series with you load. If want to filt out the negative voltage you just need to reverse the diode. You should be careful with the current rating of the diode while you choosing it.

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
I'd suggest Triacs or anti-parallel SCR's / Thyristors would be suitable. Correctly fired device gate terminals allow you to control the particular AC half cycle over which a device conducts. Said gate control pulses can be derived from the same AC voltage sources.

electroman85

Joined Aug 15, 2011
Thanks for the quick reply guys,

No Ben, a diode cant be used in my circuit, the line should be closed only during certain times.

TNK what type of Triacs or scrs should I use.

Like for DC, in bjt there is npn which i can use to on it using positive voltage, and pnp which I can used to on during negative voltage.
Is there somethin similar in triacs scrs. where the gate will switch on during either + or -, as per the type.

electroman85