What should I use -repair tools

Miguel O

Joined Apr 16, 2015
Hello,

I work in IT, mainly in computer repair and HDD data recovery.

The ways of data recovery are filled with myths, do's and dont's, and the people who master it, won't ever give you a single hint telling if you are in the correct path.

Every day now, we are receiving USB flash drives that need pcb / chip replacement, and I would like to ask you, what tools (is a hot air station doable ? do i need a pre heating plate ?) should be used for the transplant of the little chip you see in the image ? I understand some components might be sensitive to more or less heat then anothers.

Any of you ever worked in this kind of thing ?

Thank you so much for spending your time reading this.

Miguel

Attachments

Last edited:

Miguel O

Joined Apr 16, 2015
Hi, im not sure you understood.
Im not repairing i just want to extract the pen drive chip to another one, with all other funcional components and save the data inside.
That 8pin chip contains unique information about the data stored in the damaged pen drive.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
It may not be simply (??!) a matter of swapping chips, unless you have identical flash drives so that the 'other functional components' in the new drive are compatible with the old memory chip whose contents you want to preserve.

Miguel O

Joined Apr 16, 2015
It may not be simply (??!) a matter of swapping chips, unless you have identical flash drives so that the 'other functional components' in the new drive are compatible with the old memory chip whose contents you want to preserve.
Yes Alec_t, the point is getting a new flash drive, same model, firmware version and only swap the ROM chip because that chip contains unique information to acess the data stored in the flash drive.

Deltatango

Joined Apr 16, 2012