what programmer or can someone do it for me?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by unclebob, Aug 3, 2012.

1. unclebob

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 3, 2012
    Good Morning all,

I'm looking to make a device called "phantom Link" http://www.phantomlink.com/diy.aspx, which uses a PIC12F683 chip, and code is provided in asm...

Now I'm new to programming PIC's and to be honest, not likely to be doing it much any time soon, however i would like to build three of the phantom links...

So I'm after a cheap but working USB PIC programmer to load up the code three times onto three chips.

Having looked around online etc, I'm seeing many stories of clones which do not work, or programmers that are not compatible etc, so would someone be able to suggest to me a suitable programmer and software i can use to move the code to the PIC.

Alternatively is anyone willing to program them for me (given the code is already written and should be able to be just put on and sent in the post!) for a small fee? I am in the Wembley area in London - uk. I can provide the chips or if you have them, i can buy them off you for a reasonable price.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
  2. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    This guy sells the PCB but not the PIC? I'd ask him anyway if he can do some.

Several firms (Digikey for one) will program the chips they sell you. MicrochipDirect (Microchip's sales arm) will also do this. If I read their page correctly the cost per piece to program isn't much but the set up fees run about 50 GBP.

I couldn't do it as I don't have socketed programmer so I'd have to build on first and would have to charge too much ;-)

unclebob likes this.
  3. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    I had a look and by some strange coincidence I've got three of them. For £10 I can program them and send them first class tomorrow.

4. unclebob

Aug 3, 2012