what might be wrong with my red led

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Yaşar Arabacı, Nov 12, 2014.

1. Yaşar Arabacı

Thread Starter Member

Nov 11, 2014
    I am pretty new to electronics and I am making my first circuits today. I have encountered a weird problem.

I have connected 2 leds in parallel to each other and added a switch for each one. When I activate the switch for green led, green led light up. Same goes for red led. However, if I activate both switches only green led works.

I switched red led with white led and I can activate both of the leds at the same time.

I couldn't come up with any idea to explain this. Maybe red led have too little.resistance and getting all the current?

2. ISB123

May 21, 2014
    What is the voltage of power supply and show us the schematic?

3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    It is not advisable to wire LEDs in parallel because they have different turn-on voltages.

adam555 and Gdrumm like this.
  4. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Do you have current limit resistor in series with each LED?

5. Yaşar Arabacı

Thread Starter Member

Nov 11, 2014
    I don't know the proper symbols for schematics but I made a sketch and also photographed my circuit.

http://imgur.com/Od25fAi
    http://imgur.com/HogmAio

To be honest I didn't know led lights were different than other lights. I just bought them to experiment with basic circuits. I am doing this as a hobby ;-)

6. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    No problem. That's the best way to learn. Try a few things. If your results are unexpected come and ask for help on AAC.
    Get to know and understand Ohm's Law: I = V/R.
    Do the calculations and verify that Ohm's Law works for you.

Know that an LED (and any diode) is non-linear, i.e. it does not obey Ohm's Law. That is another way of saying that the resistance is not constant. The current increases faster as you increase the voltage.

7. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009