What LED manufacturers/sellers can even be trusted?

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008
I'm sure this question has been asked here before but I have had no luck finding the answer.

These days there are many bad LEDs on the market. The sellers convince the consumer their LEDs are high quality by using fake reviews, articles, videos, websites and more. I'm no LED expert so I don't know who to trust or where to go!

I need (6) white COB LED strips about 6-8" long. I am trying to illuminate a cabinet from all directions to eliminate shadows. The lights will be on for 8-12 hrs/day and need to last a few years if possible.

For ease of installation I wanted to connect all the LEDs to a common bus (meaning they would all be in parallel) and then use a LED driver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated to find and source COB LED strips

Last edited:

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Pick a manufacturer you like and find an authorized/reputable reseller.

Products on eBay or Amazon with prices that are too-good-to-believe are good candidates for being counterfeit. I'd be wary of anyone selling many low priced electronic components online. Even if they think they're legitimate, they could be unknowing victims of people selling counterfeit product.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I don't know about strips, but Cree is certainly a respected LED manufacturer. If I had a critical application where the cheap offerings on E-Bay would be too risky, I'd start at Cree.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
I need (6) white COB LED strips about 6-8" long. I am trying to illuminate a cabinet from all directions to eliminate shadows. The lights will be on for 8-12 hrs/day and need to last a few years if possible.
You won't find any in that form factor...
All the COB LEDS in that size range will be from your typical lower quality Chinese source..

Cree/Bridgelux/Lumileds/Sharp/Samsung/Citizen all make COB's but in a round form factor.