What Kind of Switch?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by loudog, Nov 30, 2010.

1. loudog

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 30, 2010
    I'm currently converting a street motorcycle to a track/race motorcycle and am trying to remove the ignition system. I have everything solved except one issue. I'm in need of some serious guru help. I'm a mechanical engineer and my knowledge of this stuff is limited, so I'm turning to the pros :D

All I'm trying to do is this:

[​IMG]

Go from one configuration where both posts are in contact to another configuration where the other two posts are in contact. Looking around it sounds like I need a double post single throw (DPST) ON-(ON). It's being used for the starter circuit so it has to handle high amperage (20-30A I think). Also, it should be a momentary switch on one side since it'll activate the starter. Finally, the switch has to be circular to mount where I want (anywhere up to 1.25" OD).

Am I on the right track? If so, where do I find this kind of switch? I looked around the internet (digikey and many others) without success. I stopped by my local supply store too without luck. Am I asking for something too specific to be an off-the-shelf product?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Lou

Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  2. windoze killa

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 23, 2006
    Yes you are on the right track. Not sure why you would need 20 to 30 amps for a starter solenoid. From memory the ones I have wired lately only draw about 5A. There are some great vandal proof push button momentary switches available. Check out Newark.com

3. loudog

Nov 30, 2010
    Thanks windoze!

I was referring to the wiring diagram for the bike and forgot I was splitting several circuits...so that makes sense that 30A is overkill . Good to know you're experience shows 5A is enough.

I'll check out Newark and see if they have what I need. It's tough finding switch suppliers online!

4. loudog

Nov 30, 2010