What is this?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by 1-3-2-4, Aug 19, 2013.

  1. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    I assume it's a cap given the drawing diagram.

    I've got no reading on my analog meter checking the one on the right but the other on the left I do get a reading.



    [​IMG]
     
  2. cornishlad

    Member

    Jul 31, 2013
    196
    25
    1-3-2-4 likes this.
  3. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
  4. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    What do you mean by "no reading on my analog meter"?

    What do you mean by "check it out of circuit"?

    You cannot infer much by testing a capacitor in-circuit or out-of-circuit.

    A capacitor should read "open circuit" when tested out-of-circuit except when it is a high value capacitance greater than 1000μF.

    I would guess that is a 2200pF or 0.0022μF cap.
     
  5. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1

    Well I was using a Ohm meter and not my capacitance meter.. I ended up checking and the 2200pF was reading 01.9 uF and the other 971 uF
     
  6. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    4,855
    767
    To check is this match what you want?
     
  7. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    You cannot use an Ohmmeter to measure capacitance.
     
  8. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1

    Well I used it on my electrolytic caps to test if they were still good or not.
     
  9. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    Doesn't work unless you know what you are doing.

    If you get a short circuit or any resistance reading then the capacitor is bad.

    Capacitors below 1000μF should show open circuit.
    For capacitors greater than 1000μF use an analog Ohmmeter and you will observe the resistance increasing as the capacitor charges up.
    Reverse the connections and observe the same thing happening.
    Eventually, you want to see a very high resistance reading.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  10. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    Ok, so anyways I found the value of the two caps and it turns out it's not the problem of why I don't have power on my power supply.. given everything is SMD and it's a SMPS I'm thinking about just chucking the whole board.
     
  11. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    That would be a reasonable thing to do.
     
  12. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    I figured you would say that
     
  13. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    But not in my case. You should see my collection of SMPS of questionable value.
     
  14. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    Well the thing is, no one has info on it, the company themselves do no have a circuit diagram on it, they just replace when bad.

    It's I fix or try to fix this board or spend $ 200+ on getting the same model only just to pull out the power supply as they don't sell anything separate.
     
  15. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    Can you post a photo of the whole thing so we can have a look?

    What is it out of?

    What are the voltage outputs and specs?
     
  16. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    It's out of a projector it should be outputting both 12V and 5V, I assume it's something near or before the PFC IC because that's what turns things on.

    A friend sent me a circuit it's not my projector but how most projectors use the PFC IC

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Changed all the caps btw as well
     
  17. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
    Can you provide the make and model of the projector?
     
  18. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1

    hah you are not going to find any info..

    Infocus IN116, I've posted everywhere and no one knows.
     
  19. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,442
    3,361
  20. 1-3-2-4

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Dec 26, 2008
    194
    1
    ok I wish I could say something changed for the better but it has not :( in this case i went ahead and ordered aused projector just so I can rip the power supply out.
     
Loading...