What is the best way to make an AC chopper and a DC chopper circuit?

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Michael George, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Michael George

Thread Starter Member

Feb 8, 2015
    I'm a student and this is the project of the final year in my collage. I really need your help and advice.

I need to make an AC chopper circuit and a DC chopper circuit to control high power load such as: light dimmer (100 W bulb) or Controlling the speed of a small motor or simple resistive load... whatever the load.

I need the circuit to be stable and reliable, Not like the circuits that sometimes work and sometimes not.
    It should work with wide range of loads regardless the temperature and any other factor that can affect the working of the circuit.

Would you answer these questions, Please?

1. What is the best IC and transistors to make this project? What is their part number?
    2. Is it better to make it using Arduino and microcontrollers?
    3. Can I make one circuit that is able to work as a DC chopper and AC chopper? Or Should I make two separate circuits, One for DC chopper and another one for AC chopper?

Thank you very much, I really appreciate your help.
  2. wayneh

Sep 9, 2010
    I would separate the DC and AC circuits. If someone has a clever solution to merge them, that's fine, but I'd stick to modular functions until you learn more about this.

There are many choices for a DC circuit. Many people use a PWM circuit based on the 555 timer IC. Or, you use an op-amp to generate a triangle wave and a comparator to choose the duty cycle. And there are dedicated ICs designed for PWM.

On the AC side, are you talking about making a simple triac light dimmer?

You don't need a microprocessor for either of these simple circuits unless you need more from them than you've described, for instance if you need a certain dimming profile over time.
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
    Michael George likes this.
  3. Michael George

Thread Starter Member