What is Dry Input Contact

HallMark

Joined Apr 3, 2011
Hello Friends,

Somewhere I come to know about Dry Input Contact. Anybody can give me some detailed information about Dry Input Contact?

What will be the circuit if I want to sense Dry Contact using Microcontroller?

Regards,

HallMark

Joined Apr 3, 2011
It's a relay contact. It will use a pull-up resistor connected to the Micro-controller input.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pull-up_resistor

In the figure where you see the switch in line with the resistor, replace the switch with a relay. There are plenty of ways to control a relay, many are on this site.
Is that mean if I use Pullup on my microcontroller Pin. When ever Dry contact become active I can see Low voltage level on my pin ?
Please correct me if I am wrong.

killivolt

Joined Jan 10, 2010
It might be the opposite I'm not sure. I'm just learning this stuff myself.

You will have to lookup other threads relating to this subject. All I can say is a dry contact is a switch, my direct reference with equipment I use it's a relay.

But, I think it could be any switch. Someone else will have to help you or you can do some searches....

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
A dry contact is one that does not switch the primary controlling current, some examples are input to PLC or Pic where the subsequent result is switched elsewhere, or an auxilliary contact on a motor Contactor or overload, that indicates to some other source that the contactor or O/L has been activated.
Max.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
In my experience, "dry" means very little current, like 10 ma maximum. Dry contacts are gold plated to insure proper electrical contact in a circuit where the voltage is too low to penetrate a tiny oxide layer (a failure mode) and the current is too small to burn a new surface on the contacts when the contact resistance increases (a failure mode).