what happens if

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
what will happen if two positive charges travelling and meet at the same node or point. so then what will happen.
As far as i know they will be repelled. They will reach each other very closely but they will never touch. I am not a scientist but that what i guess from my knowledge about this subject.

mrmount

Joined Dec 5, 2007
All charges move under the influence of electric field and it requires immense amount of energy to bring them very close together. So in a circuit, they move without touching each other, I suppose.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
All charges move under the influence of electric field and it requires immense amount of energy to bring them very close together. So in a circuit, they move without touching each other, I suppose.
Yes, that is what i think too, they dont touch each other

Sparky

Joined Aug 1, 2005
Coulomb's force law applies here.

As there two charges get closer and closer, there force increases exponentially.

(distance between them squared in the denominator.)

As mrmount and mik3 mentioned they won't touch - notice mathematically you can't have a zero in the denominator - meaning have the two at the same point.

A very interesting study would be if you shot the two down and could maintain a straight line - just what would happen.

If you are talking individual atomic particles then things may get complicated.

If you are talking charged things on the macro level then we can turn to classical physics and conservation of momentum and other laws.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006

Sparky

Joined Aug 1, 2005
Papabravo - wow!

Good links

I knew particle / anti-particles had been smashed togther.

I did not recall the proton-proton collision.

I (obviously) retract my comment that they won't touch -

If you can get like particles to collide the result will be lots of energies and pieces flying everywhere.:eek:

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007