what does it take to become an asic/fpga designer? is it worth it ?

Discussion in 'Career Advising' started by JoyAm, Aug 18, 2016.

1. JoyAm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 21, 2014
    I think that the title describe it all, what do you think about this topic?

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    Doing an FPGA is a nearly trivial task that many engineers can do without specialized knowledge or education. Doing a custom ASIC is a whole other proposition. I'd learn how to use and apply microcontrollers first.

Is it worth it? That depends on your metric for worth. I graduated in 1970 with a Masters Degree in EE and no student loan debt. I made a comfortable living as an engineer for half a century (I worked while I was in school). All during that time I was too busy working to make any real money. I'm doing fine in retirement because I learned how to make my money work for me while I'm sleeping and relaxing. I wish I had started the process in my 20's.

3. JoyAm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 21, 2014
    I will also have an electrical and computer engineering master in aproximatelly two years from now but i have absolutelly no idea what i am going to do with it. I like boolean logic and i also like the vlsi courses i am taking but appart from that i really dont know what i am supposed to do. In your experience working as an engineer didnt have a good working/money ratio ?

4. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    I don't think so. The salary ratio from my first full time job (1971) to my last job (2014) was a factor of 10. In the beginning I sometimes worked 80 hrs/week and it damn near killed me. I started my own company in 1995, at a substantial pay cut, and again the hours I worked destroyed much of my non-work life. In 2001 I switched my focus to finance and investment. It has been a roller coaster white knuckle thrill ride, but at least I'm still standing.

5. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012