what does a technician do? (career options)

ninjaman

Joined May 18, 2013
Hello,

I am trying to learn about electronics as I would like to become a technician. I have tried reading job descriptions and it seems that a technician could be many things. Please could those that have done this job explain a little about what level you would be required to be at to do this job and what you would do on a day to day basis.

I have read some job qualification requirements and I already have an HNC which is equivalent to 1 year of degree. I am trying to complete my HND which is the second year. But I have no experience.
I think it could be a good idea to set tasks for people to complete, for instance a task that you may have been given at work. I don't mean sweeping up or counting stock but the more practical things a technician may be required to do.

Thanks
Simon

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Test a production unit. Troubleshoot the same and direct its repair (others will probably do the work).

Skill with volt meters, oscilloscopes, signal generators, power supplies.

Able to read understand and follow written instructions. Able to ask for help when help is required.

Build prototypes. Build test fixtures.

Keep good notes.

Most importantly, make your boss look good.

I have several techs working for me and that is what I look for. For an entry level candidate such as yourself it is best to bring something to the interview to impress me, something you built out of your own interest.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Without related experience, you must have a degree. Very few companies will take a chance on someone with no experience AND no degree. It's a lot easier to hire than to fire someone, so most hiring managers won't take a chance on an unproven person. Book learning isn't everything but, without experience, it's the only thing prospective companies can use for comparing with others.