What do you understand from this schematic??

rokz_2005

Joined May 14, 2011
Ok I know what it does but can some one tell me what the values of each of the components are. the only thing that i recognise is the capacitor symbol. What are the rest of them?? (I appreciate your help in advance) Thanks

Attachments

praondevou

Joined Jul 9, 2011
Doesn't that look more like PLC ladder?

In my opinion the "capacitors" are inputs, enabling a one-shot timer which in turn enables the output.

Since I'm not a PLC programmer I could be totally wrong though.:D

rokz_2005

Joined May 14, 2011
Thanks for the reply.
I am after the feature of this circuit but have no idea at all on how to build it. Is this part of an ic or just a few components stuck together?

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
The waveform diagram shows inputs going 'high'. The method used could vary. Relays, transistor switches, or similar are all possibilities.
'TD1' is used twice with two different symbols. Could be 'time delay', or something else.

This is NOT a component level schematic, but is what we call a 'block diagram'.

mbxs3

Joined Oct 14, 2009
Definitely ladder logic.

The TD symbol that is a circle is probably as Kermit stated, a Time Delay Relay, but the circle TD1 represents the relay coil.

The TD1 that is in the 2nd rung is the normally closed, timed open, contact of the Time Delay Relay. This contact is closed when the relay coil is de-energized and delays in opening when the coil is energized.

The symbols that resemble capacitor symbols in normal schematics is representative of a switch of some sort. It could really be anything, from a pressure switch to a toggle switch. In this case, they are both normally open switches.

A general breakdown of how this particular circuit would work is this:

We will assume that the "input" is a toggle switch.