What digital multimeter should I buy ($150-$200)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by AKnogood, Nov 25, 2013.

1. AKnogood

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 21, 2013
    I'm a student in electronic engineering and looking to buy a handheld DMM in the range of ($150-$200). I think a Fluke or Agilent would be nice. Any particular model that you would recommend?

I might try to buy a used model on ebay. So you can list some models that are more expensive than $200.. Thanks!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    You should go to the Fluke website and look at the features of each model. Think about what you intend to do and choose one that does what you want...even if it hurts to pay that price. That's what I did, and it has been my every day meter for 35 years.

3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    Yep.. YOU should list what sort of features you need.. not the price you want to spend.

4. AKnogood

Nov 21, 2013
    Is Fluke a good choice for Electronic or should I go with Agilent or else?

5. Dr.killjoy

Apr 28, 2013
    I would love to get an Agilent meter but can never seem to find one used but the you could buy is a Fluke 87 .. But for me I am finding out that it really helps to have couple meter to several measurement....

6. Digital101

May 27, 2013
    I work for Fluke here in South Africa, AKnogood.

I would go for either the Fluke 287 or the Fluke 87V. High accuracy multimeters ideal for Electronics. The 287 also has additional specs for the Electronics enthusiast. These might be a tad too expensive though.

Other option are the Fluke 177, basic multimeter missing some things that you would want to use for electronics.

Note the above mentioned do have lifetime warranty. Which proves the saying, "A Fluke for Life"

The ideal ones might be the Fluke 17B or the Fluke 117 for you.

Be sure to have a look at the new range, Fluke 106 and 107. But those are more for guys at home, DIY stuff around the house or car etc.

PM me if you need some data...

Expert