Were you taught in school what overunity is?

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I don't specifically remember being taught what overunity is in middle or high school. I learned about it on my own, around age 10 or so, on an online forum (newsgroup, actually). I was severely roasted after posting up an idea I had about a permanent magnet motor. Learned the hard way. I think I would remember having that lesson reaffirmed in my school curriculum. But I don't. I'm thinking now that maybe it just isn't taught. That would explain the excess of people in the world who believe in it.

So, were you taught it in school or not?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I don't remember anyone telling me that overunity even exists (as a concept) until I started playing around on the internet.
Even the Law of Conservation of Energy does not explicitly say energy can not be generated by its own load. "Energy can not be destroyed or created, only converted (except in the case of atomic energy reactions). You actually have to rub two brain cells together to get to "overunity can not be done in the real world".

Wylie Coyote demonstrates overunity every time he bounces, so I'd say a lot of children could misinterpret that as feasible.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Most everybody knows perpetual motion is impossible.

However, most people don't equate running a motor from a generator that is spun by the motor with "perpetual motion", they are looking for "FREE Electricity!!!!" :(

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
This is standard fare in any introductory Physics course known as the law of conservation of energy.