Weight triggered trap door

Crickeatz

Joined May 11, 2015
Hi,

I have no electronics background but came across this forum as was wondering if anyone could help.
I run a Cricket (the insect) breeding facility for the pet food industry. I'm looking for a way for the crickets to effectively self harvest without the need for the existing manual processes other farms use.
Basically I'm looking to build a small platform on to which the crickets can crawl. When the total weight on the platform reaches a specific amount (number of crickets) then the platform itself drops down and the crickets fall into a collection bin beneath. The platform can then flick back up for the next group of crickets to crawl on to.
I've been trying to find something designed for this purpose for a few days now with no luck so thinking I might need to build my own. Considering they have a brain the size of a grain of sand, these crickets are surprisingly intelligent and my other attempts to persuade them to do stupid things have failed - therfore any help and guidance most gratefully received!!

Matt

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
Basically I'm looking to build a small platform on to which the crickets can crawl. When the total weight on the platform reaches a specific amount (number of crickets) then the platform itself drops down and the crickets fall into a collection bin beneath. The platform can then flick back up for the next group of crickets to crawl on to.
Trying to do this by weight could get really tricky: crickets weigh so little (a few hundred milligrams?) that weighing them would probably require an extremely delicate mechanism. Offhand, I don't know of any ready-made sensor that would do the job.