Ways to fry a transistor

yamanq

Joined Feb 24, 2016
I am new to circuitry, and while working with transistors, I believe that I have fried them (they are always open). I found online that placing them the wrong way fries them, but does application of a lot of voltage also fry them? Is there a way to fix them?
I am working with 2N2222A transistors and the voltage that I applied was 9V.
Thank you in advance

Edit: Schematic:

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
No resistors means no limit to the current. You have exceeded the current rating of your transistors. They can not be repaired.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Your schematic doesn't make much sense. You are showing a currents in the transistor going the opposite direction they should -- and this is reflected in the very low current gain of one (how realistic that is I'm not sure).

You also have an emitter-base voltage of 3.6 V. This part was an absolute max for that voltage of just 6 V, so that can get you in trouble, too.

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
Nice color beans! Or it is dots? Do they move ? If so, in what direction?

What if the OP posts a schematics drawn in a non-fancy way?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
(Some) Ways to fry a (BJ) transistor:
Exceed the base-emitter maximum current rating.
Exceed the base-emitter maximum reverse-voltage rating.
Exceed the collector-emitter or collector-base maximum voltage rating.
Exceed the collector-emitter maximum current rating.
Exceed the transistor maximum junction temperature (power) rating.

All of the above values can be found in the transistor data sheet under "Absolute Maximum Ratings".

Sounds like you may have exceeded at least one of those in your experimenting.

Note that the normal direction of base-emitter and collector-emitter current flow in a BJT is in the direction of the base-emitter arrow (opposite of what you show).

Perhaps you should read up some more on how transistors work. :rolleyes:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012