watthour metered lamp

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by just1, Aug 28, 2010.

1. just1

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 28, 2010
    Hello, this is my first post. I joined here hoping to get some help with my little project, a search for electric meter lamp on google will turn up plenty of lamps which have been wired to these meters to make them run, but I can't seem to find any info on how to go about wiring this my self, I'm not an electrician. I got the meter from an electric company employee who was changing out the old meters with the new digital ones, after some talk he told me he had been looking to collect a few him self and that if he could manage to get his hands on some that he would drop one by for me, well about a month later I got a knock at the door, and there he was with a meter in hand! so, back to the project, the meter is a SANGAMO Rr 27 7/9 CL200 240V 3W TYPE J5S 30TA 7.2 there look to be 4 main terminals on the rear and a connection for ground, a suitable base will need to be made to mount the meter to. any help in this will be greatly appreciated.

2. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    By electric meter lamp, do you mean:
    [​IMG]

3. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    If so, theoretically, you should be able to wire L1 to either one of the 2 phases terminals and then ground to ground on the LINE side.

Connect the lamp to the LOAD side.

Why this should work:
    Because even if you have 3 phase service to a building, you may only be using 1 phase.

The meter will still measure what each phase is pulling, even if some phases are not pulling anything.

You should have L1 L2 N and GND

Are they labeled?

Can you post a picture of the connection terminal plate?

4. just1

Aug 28, 2010
    yes that is what I want to do, here is a couple pics of the meter's rear:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

nothing is labeled but I think the little plate which has the two screws in it is gnd

Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  5. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010