Want to build a momentary switch out of a Piezoelectric disk extracted from a buzzer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by handakes, May 24, 2015.

1. handakes

Thread Starter New Member

May 24, 2015
    Hey there,
    First and foremost, I do these kind of circuits for pure fun, and I have no formal education in electrical engineering what so ever (I am actually a senior medical student) so please, bear with me, and try to keep it simple..

Recently, I have built a guitar controller from parts that were lying around in my house, and an xbox 360 controller's main board.. and it works great, so I was thinking I could also build a custom Drum controller as well..

The main problem is that I need a sensor that senses vibrations and acts as a pushbutton that I can hook to my controller's board.. when I hit the drums, it should close the switch momentarily.. here's what I've learned so far:

- a piezoelectric disk (such as the one in a buzzer) can be used as a sensor for vibration as it generates high potential, low current when deformed.
    -you need a microcontroller (like most of the readily available drum kits and midi devices) to let the board know which voltage is on and which is off.
    -you need a pull down resistor to negate the "floating" state.

I can't use a microcontroller (strictly out of financial reasons, that and the fact that I can't code for nill) so I was wondering if there is a way to make this work without it, here's what I've tried :

-soldered 2 wires to the "signal" and "gnd" leads of one of the buttons on the xbox 360 controller pad
    - extracted the disk from the buzzer, and connected the disk to the wires from the pad (directly) like so:
    On board Signal lead ---------> Piezoelectric Ground lead
    On board Ground lead --------> piezoelectric Voltage lead

-tried the board to see if a tap is registered as a button press, and found that every 10-15 taps registers as only 1 button press!