volts and amps

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by akathecops, Dec 25, 2013.

1. akathecops

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 25, 2013
    hi im jeff and i am new to the computer world. i just have a question about my boat believe it or not. i have a 12v trolling motor and a generator with a 10 amp charger can i run this straight to my motor without harming it.
    thank you and Merry Christmas

2. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    Does your boat is a RC boat?
    How much current(A) does your boat needs?
    How many voltages does your generator can provide?

akathecops likes this.
  3. akathecops

Dec 25, 2013
    no its a small fishing boat. its a 12 volt car battery and the motor is a 12v trolling motor,.

4. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Hi Jeff. That sounds OK to me.

Merry Christmas and welcome to the forums!

akathecops likes this.
  5. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    The trolling motor could be damaged if the charger output voltage is too high. Chargers are for charging batteries, and the voltage from a generator charger may be quite a bit higher than 12-13V, which is what the trolling motor is designed for. In addition, you will probably find that that the trolling motor draws more current than the charging circuit can supply.

Are you planning to run a generator in a fishing boat? Just curious.

akathecops likes this.
  6. Brownout

Jan 10, 2012
    A 30-lb trolling motor will require about 18-19A from your battery or charger when used at high setting. I'm in the process of measuring the actual amperage of my motor, so I'll need to get back to you with the final number, but I'm almost sure that 10A won't be enough. Also, you'll need a 'dumb' battery charger. Some of the newer smart chargers won't put anything out unless they are connected to an actual battery.

I'm doing exactly the same thing with my trolling motor, but haven't got it set up yet. I have a 50A 12V transformer I plan to use.

akathecops likes this.