voltage tests and thermostats ac circuits

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bonkers, Dec 11, 2008.

1. bonkers

Thread Starter Member

Dec 11, 2008
    I have been checking out info on voltage tests for air conditioner circuits. And I am a bit perplexed. I will admit, I am not an expert at voltage tests. Anyhow I always thought you measure voltage from line in to line out. Positive to negative. The info I have been reading is telling me to measure a switch or thermostat across a line in series. One end of thermostat to the other end with the thermostat in series with the line. A reading of 120 volts means circuit is open, reading of o volts circuit is closed. How can you get a reading with voltage in series with the switch. I always thought voltage was tested in parallel across from line in to line out. Not across a switch in series say on the same line. Thanks! Info appreciated.

2. leftyretro

Nov 25, 2008
    Well the instructions are correct. And you are also right in that MOST voltage measurements are performed with one meter lead on circuit common (or ground or neutral if you like) and the other meter lead used to measure for voltage at various parts of the circuit. Not sure what you mean by line in and line out, not the best of terms I think for this discussion.