voltage regulator LM-317T

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by parisathena, May 6, 2013.

1. parisathena

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 22, 2011
    I am experimenting with this voltage regulator and as far as I know, or maybe not know the input voltage shall be positive. In my experiments I want to use this regulator to vary the speed of a motor and to reverse its rotation. The circuit I build is the standard circuit in the datasheet and I apply 0 to +12V and 0 to -12V and regulator and its working even with negative input voltage. I am missing something?

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Likely. The LM317 only works with a positive polarity. It can regulate a positive voltage but not a negative.

Post your circuit diagram.

3. parisathena

Feb 22, 2011
    Please open with http://expresssch.findmysoft.com/.

I am puzzled too. I had the circuit controlling a 12V motor that was turning a load of 20lbs for 5hrs with -12V and no problem; I am an electrical engineer, PE and I through all my books out, I cannot figure it out. I was planning to use the LM-337 to build a negative voltage regulator and I wire the LM-317 reverse by accident and it was working.

4. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    You can using Relay, Bjt, Mosfet to drive the Motor.
    If you have LM317 and LM337 then you can do as these ways:

Hi → NPN Bjt(-) ← PNP Bjt(+) → Motor → GND
    Lo ← PNP Bjt(+) → NPN BJt(-) ← Motor ← GND

Hi → NPN Bjt(-) ← P ch Fet(+) → Motor → GND
    Lo ← PNP Bjt(+) → N ch Fet(-) ← Motor ← GND

5. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    All I see in your link is a 9.7mB download I do not want.
    Please confirm your circuit here at AAC.

In particular what is the regulator connected across? +12 and -12 / or 0 and +12 / and then 0 and -12?

Further what is the motor load connected across?

0 and +12 or what?

6. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008