Voltage regulator in a circuit

tekinzen

Joined Nov 22, 2009
Hello all. I'm new to electronics so pleas bear with me.

AFAIK, a voltage regulator has three pins, one for the input voltage (+), one for ground (-) and the third for the output voltage that needs to be regulated.
If the voltage regulator exists in a circuit the reference anode will become pin no. 3 of the voltage regulator while the ground (pin no 2) will become the cathode. Is my theory correct?

I'm referring to the picture at http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=10904&d=1247957116.

Thanks!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
It is safest to use Google to get a data sheet for the device in question. Fixed positive regulators (78xx)usually go In - Ground - Out. Fixed negative regulators (79xx) usually go Ground - In - Out. Adjustable regulators with 3 pins are different yet.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Just to get on the same page:
the third for the output voltage that needs to be regulated.
That should read "the regulated voltage output". The input is the voltage in need of regulation.

This is a bit confusing:
If the voltage regulator exists in a circuit the reference anode will become pin no. 3 of the voltage regulator while the ground (pin no 2) will become the cathode
The 7808's pin 2 should connect to circuit ground, and so the output voltage is reference to that part of the circuit.

I simply do not quite get what you mean by "reference anode". Pin 3 is the 8 volt regulated voltage source.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
One other point, if you read the fine print on these parts you will find capacitors on the input and outputs are needed, typically a 0.1µF cap on each, with a 100µF or larger cap on the input if the regulator is more than 6" away from their source.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Just to confuse you a bit more,

You're showing a ST Microelectronics 7808 regulator in the photo.