voltage modification....

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by CrackJack, Aug 7, 2009.

1. CrackJack

Thread Starter Active Member

Aug 7, 2009
    Hello All,
    I am a student from EE and I want to have develop a circuit (last stage of my circuit) which would clamp from 5V to 0V..
    the current circuit consists of a vtg follower, the o/p of which is connected to RC filter and then to an instrumentation amp... However, the instrumentation amp produces an o/p of 5V when the i/p to the vtg follower is 0V... I want to design the o/p stage such that the o/p is 0V when the i/p is 0v and the o/p is 5V when the i/p is around 100 mV..

the i/p to vtg follower is a noise pattern which has a max magnitude of 130mV...
    i want to amplify this signal so that I can send it to micro-controller circuit...

Can someone please help me.....

plzzzzz:(

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Can you post up a schematic of your circuit?

3. CrackJack

Aug 7, 2009
    yea, sure...

i use B2Spice.. i knw it sucks.. but.. tats the s/w that I use for simulation..

i have attached the schematic.. in the schematic, node V7 represents the i/p sensor which has an AM wave pattern...(basically AC noise with a freq of 60hz)

I am taking the o/p from Vm1... The 1st Op-amp is the vtg follower, followed by RC ckt, and the next 3 op-amps form the instrumentation amplr...

Can you please suggest if I am gng wrong anywhere?

4. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Your noise source appears to be single ended. That makes the instrumentation amp more complication than necessary. You only need a gain of 50 after your filter which is simple with any op amp.

Your circuit is running with a single supply. If your input signal goes below ground, you will lose that portion, as the op amps can't swing negative. You will either need a negative supply, or another op amp buffering a voltage divider to create a virtual ground. TI has a nice app note on the technique.

5. CrackJack