Voltage Drop Circuit for Pilot Lamp?

jamval

Joined Mar 7, 2015
The power indicator lamp burnt out on my vintage amplifier. The service manual calls for 8v 50ma wired pilot lamp. But I'm getting 18 volts across the connecting pins. I have very little electronics knowledge.
Before replacing it I measured voltage across pins 11 and 8 in the attached schematic. Expecting to get about 8 volts I was surprised to get a reading of 18volts. The resistor is 390 ohm 1 watt.

I attempted to back into voltage drop to see if the 390 ohm 1 watt resistor is the problem, but I'm not making sense out of that. So before I start replacing lamps to have them burn out what should I go after -These components are on a power supply board, which will be a PIA to get at, sits vertically with the business side of the components between the board and transformer.
Other than this problem the amp is working very well, at least to my ears.
Thanks for any help.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
If the Lamp is not connected, you might be getting open voltage value.
With the lamp connected the voltage will drop to the required value.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
The resistor doesn't do anything to the voltage when you are measuring across a burned out bulb. So, the source is 18 volts. Assuming the bulb will drop 8 volts if fed 50 mA per the bulb spec, you can limit the current with a 180 ohm resistor. You already have a 390 ohm resistor that will limit an 8 ohm bulb to 25 mA. That much resistance will actually not let the bulb drop 8 volts so you will end up with something less (maybe 6 volts across the bulb) and something slightly higher than the calculated 25 mA across the resistor because the resistor will have to drop more than 10 volts if the bulb drops less than 8 V.

Anyhow, you are safe with an 8V 50 mA bulb if you have an 18V power supply and a 390 ohm resistor in series.

jamval

Joined Mar 7, 2015