voltage divider formula manipulation, (for the "bad at math")

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ninjaman, May 17, 2016.

1. ninjaman

Thread Starter Member

May 18, 2013
    Hello,

I have been reading this recently, http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/worksheets/voltage-divider-circuits/
    and I am not good at math, or the rearranging of formulas.

Notes:

Though this “voltage divider formula” may be found in any number of electronics reference books, your students need to understand how to algebraically manipulate the given formulae to arrive at this one.

I am not too sure how to algebraically manipulate the given formulae. I have read the voltage divider text but understanding it is the problem.

Any help on this would be great!
    Thanks
    Simon

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    I'm not sure what you are referring to -- which formulae? Where is that Note quoted from? I'm lacking much context with which to work.

If you aren't good at algebra, the best approach is to work at getting reasonably proficient at algebra. Don't just try to learn "tricks" to work with specific formula in specific situations -- learn to understand and appreciate the math that is involved. It will take some time and effort, but the payoff will be enormous.

Do you understand where the basic voltage divider equation (where you have two resistors in series connected to an ideal source) comes from in the first place? That is as good a place to start as any.

cmartinez likes this.
  3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    You can manipulate simple formulas by multiplying or dividing both sides by the same factor.
    For example, take Ohm's law, V = I*R.
    To solve for R you divide both sides of the equation by I, giving V/I = (I*R)/I
    Since (I*R)/I = R, you end up with V/I = R or, since you can swap values across an equal sign, R= V/I.

I leave it as an exercise for you to similarly solve for I.