Voltage Divider Circuit question

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Curls, Jan 6, 2010.

1. Curls

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 6, 2010
    Hi all,

I'm new to electronics and I'm trying to learn some stuff on my own by reading the courses on all about circuits and trying to solve the worksheets. 'Till so far, I managed to find and explain most things myself, but now I'm stuck on question 36 on this page (all the way at the bottom): http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/worksheets/e_divide.html

Strange thing is: I think I found a way to make the calculations, because they work out for R4 and R3, but when I try to do the same thing for R2, I get a different result.

So here's what I do:

I start with the bottom resistance, R4, which isn't very hard. You've got to have a voltage of 45V and a current bleed of 5mA, so the resistance there should be 9k (correct according to the answers you can see by clicking "reveal answers"). The equivalent resistance with the bottom load connected (a load that draws 10mA of current at 45V, so which has a resistance of 4k5), would then be 3k (9k and 4k5 in parallel).
    Then I look up and take R3. Right above R3 there should be a total voltage of 100V, so the voltage over R3 should be 100V-45V (which is the voltage over R4), so 55V, correct? The equivalent resistance for R4, at 45V is 3k (as calculated above), so I calculate R3 using the voltage divider formula: E(R3)=Etot*R3/Rtot, Rtot being nothing more than R3+R4, so R3+3k. With E(R3) being 55V and Etot being 100V, a little bit of algebra gives me 45R=300, so R3=3,67k... which is also correct according to the anwers.