Voltage control using PWM from a PIC

finne

Joined Jul 29, 2013
Hello, I have some questions regarding a project I'm working on.

Whats the recommended way to cool this LM1084 5A regulator? https://www1.elfa.se/data1/wwwroot/assets/datasheets/hrLM1084_data_e.pdf

I have these TO220 heatsinks http://www.fischerelektronik.de/uploads/pics/FK252gr_01.jpg but it seems that I need active cooling as well if I'm using the regulator to its full potential. However I have no experience in designing active cooling. Fan types, placement etc. There are some graphs with temperature shown in the LM1084 datasheet but I dont know what to make of them.

So the longer question. I'm designing a PIC controlled battery charger for lithium ion batteries and just want some general feedback on it. Actually it will have more functions than charging, including destructive stress testing which is why I need all the current. I have succesfully used this little guide to create a D/A converter for my PIC http://www.edn.com/design/analog/4363990/Control-an-LM317T-with-a-PWM-signal

The ciruit I have is this, simplified a bit to capture the essentials:

The PIC controls for example the current with a feedback loop, mesuring current using Ai0:

PWM_new = PWM_old - Measured_Current + Target_Current

So in general, what stupid mistakes have I made? :) What would you do differently?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Actually it will have more functions than charging, including destructive stress testing
What would you do differently?
I wouldn't do the destructive testing bit :). Are you aware of the fire and explosion risks when charging/using lithium batteries?

finne

Joined Jul 29, 2013
I wouldn't do the destructive testing bit :). Are you aware of the fire and explosion risks when charging/using lithium batteries?
Yes. We at this university have the labs needed to blow up batteries safely :) But thanks for caring.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011