Voice Recognition

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by loosewire, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. loosewire

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 25, 2008
    1,584
    435
    Dave,Has voice recognition software improved enough to invest, do youstill set up It with your voice only,meaning my voice. LOOSEWIRE
     
  2. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    Depends what you are trying to do with the VR software. Are you talking about VR for general use on your PC?

    Dave
     
  3. loosewire

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 25, 2008
    1,584
    435
    Using my voice to post.
     
  4. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    Very nice. Using what software?

    Dave
     
  5. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    Never tried it, but it is a built in feature of XP.
     
  6. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    Really? Possibly you mean a feature of Office 2007?
     
  7. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    I think you're right that it is Office VR. IIRC Vista was the first version of Windows with VR built into the system.

    Dave
     
  8. thingmaker3

    Retired Moderator

    May 16, 2005
    5,072
    6
    Does the user have to have the same Seattle accent as Bill Gates?:)
     
  9. theamber

    Active Member

    Jun 13, 2008
    318
    0
    Yes I tried it, it works fine the thing is that you have to train it for two hours before it can type your voice. It makes mistakes but the more you train it the better it becames, but I still think typing is faster. But if you do not like to type them I recomend it.
    About the harware voice recognition I have "the clapper" to turn lights and appliances on or off and I do not like it. It gets trigger with other noises. Mine comes with a sensitive knob but still is not good enough. Other times it does ot respond until several commands.
    A crude technology I think.
     
  10. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    You guys in the states all have the same accent to us Brits!

    The male "person" who voices it is called Sam!

    Which software did you use?

    Dave
     
  11. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    One suspects you've not been to either Mississippi or Arkansas.

    Google for "Troops". It's a clip made with all the real props from the set that parodies "Star Wars". The Imperial trooper that does the majority is the commentary has a strong upper Midwestern accent, which adds to the funniness (for us Colonials). Even if that doesn't add to your appreciation, it's pretty funny.
     
  12. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    You are right. People from Alabama speak differently I notice. I am close?

    I suppose it is no different when you guys hear us brits - we all sound like the Queen and Prince Charles don't we?!

    This: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gO6rqAJ3mGc

    Funny! I love it when he's talking to the Jawa, and there is no way Stormtroppers can shoot that accurately!

    Dave
     
  13. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    SAM (Software Automatic Mouth) was originally written for the Commodore 64, for what it's worth. It's a pretty simple program overall.
     
  14. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    I am in Canada and have trouble understanding the many dialects of Brits, especially Cockney.
    The Hillbillies in the United States speak their own language (not English) and so do the Southerners (African?).
     
  15. theamber

    Active Member

    Jun 13, 2008
    318
    0
    I used one several years ago I forgot the name but I used another last year it came in a Gateway tablet PC. They were pretty much the say.
    I am actually from Spain but lived in California for 19 years. Now I live in Baja California.
    By the way, do you know Superchrome and Creativeit they are London based companies
     
  16. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    I wonder what the software is that all the non-human telephone agents use? I doubt that they have much vocabulary, but they can understand speech over a low-bandwith POTS line. That is somewhat impressive.
     
  17. thingmaker3

    Retired Moderator

    May 16, 2005
    5,072
    6
    Except, of course, for the ones who sound Welsh or Cockney or...
    My experience has been less fruitful. Perhaps my careflu annunciation and articulation are more than the software can handle.
     
Loading...