Voice Doubling Mic

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by OokamiNora, May 12, 2011.

1. OokamiNora

Thread Starter New Member

May 12, 2011
    Hi Guys, I am new to Circuitry, and i have a project i was trying to make for a convention that i am probably going to go to, but i need help with the circuitry.
    The plan is, i am going as a vocaloid (a computer voice portraying a real person) in this case a singer, but when i go onstage to sing the song, or talk in the crowd, i want my voice to sound a little more like a computer, well more like my voice has a delay circuit so it sounds like there are 2 of me talking at the same time, perferably 2 nanoseconds apart or so, causing it to sound like theres 2 voices coming from one person.
    Anyone have any ideas for a circuit for it?
    perferably i would like it to attach between the mic and cord or cord and mixer.
    The help is most apreciated

2. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005
    2ns? Then use two cables, where the second one is one foot longer. :D
    Other than that, to do any delay you need some memory medium. In the old times it was an infinite loop in a cassete player with two or more playback heads at different positions.
    In the modern days you need A/D converter, some signal processor with enough RAM to hold the delay and a D/A. Much easier to buy some guitar pedal that has delay in it.

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Gosh, this sounds like you need simple reverb, which "echoes" the signal a few milliseconds after the main. (Nobody could detect a nanosecond delay, as this is far less than a single cycle of the sound.)

Reverb is provided by a wide range of audio amps or effects units.

4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    The speed of light in 1ns travels 9". You mean milliseconds, otherwise you will never notice the difference. Say 10ms apart. Google bucket brigade chip.

5. KMoffett

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 19, 2007
    Bill,

Where can you get those now? I haven't seen any for sale for many years.