video transmission via laser diode

sesmd (stan)

Joined Sep 30, 2014
Greetings to all interested - I have been trying to build a system where I can send a ccd camera acquired
real-time image via a modulated laser diode beam. I've successfully built the transmitter part - which intensity
modulates a red laser diode. However, I'm having trouble obtaining adequate frequency response at the
receiver end. I've chosen a new approach - using a red LED as the beam detector (setup reverse biased @ 5V),
driving a FET-NPN BJT cascode amp. However, I'm having trouble with cascode amp biasing. I am mainly
self-taught, so my knowledge is spotty, and I have very little experience using software circuit design tools.
I welcome any help and/or pointers from anyone interested in such a project.
Thanks in advance to all contributions!

stan

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I have some questions:
  1. How is the beam from the laser diode modulated?
  2. What datarate are you using for the digital information?
  3. Why did you choose a reversed biased LED as a detector?
  4. Can you show us a schematic diagram so we can see how the amplifier is biased?

sesmd (stan)

Joined Sep 30, 2014
I have some questions:
  1. How is the beam from the laser diode modulated?
  2. What datarate are you using for the digital information?
  3. Why did you choose a reversed biased LED as a detector?
  4. Can you show us a schematic diagram so we can see how the amplifier is biased?
Thanks for your interest!
I am analog modulating the laser diode, using a video signal to drive a simple MOSFET amp, adjusting bias and gain, such
that the laser maintains adequate current for coherent beam production. I believe the approximate video frequency is
about five MHz. A red LED matched to a red laser diode (by trial) work well together, and a LED as a sensor has a
very fast response rate. Reverse biasing allows using a greater bias across the LED, with greater voltage variation in response