video transmission via laser diode

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by sesmd (stan), Apr 27, 2015.

1. sesmd (stan)

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 30, 2014
    Greetings to all interested - I have been trying to build a system where I can send a ccd camera acquired
    real-time image via a modulated laser diode beam. I've successfully built the transmitter part - which intensity
    modulates a red laser diode. However, I'm having trouble obtaining adequate frequency response at the
    receiver end. I've chosen a new approach - using a red LED as the beam detector (setup reverse biased @ 5V),
    driving a FET-NPN BJT cascode amp. However, I'm having trouble with cascode amp biasing. I am mainly
    self-taught, so my knowledge is spotty, and I have very little experience using software circuit design tools.
    I welcome any help and/or pointers from anyone interested in such a project.
    Thanks in advance to all contributions!

stan

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    I have some questions:
    1. How is the beam from the laser diode modulated?
    2. What datarate are you using for the digital information?
    3. Why did you choose a reversed biased LED as a detector?
    4. Can you show us a schematic diagram so we can see how the amplifier is biased?

3. AnalogKid

Distinguished Member

Aug 1, 2013
    Please post a schematic of what you have tried so far.

ak

4. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005
    What is your transmission medium? Is it air or optical fiber?

5. sesmd (stan)

Sep 30, 2014
    Thanks for your interest!
    I am analog modulating the laser diode, using a video signal to drive a simple MOSFET amp, adjusting bias and gain, such
    that the laser maintains adequate current for coherent beam production. I believe the approximate video frequency is
    about five MHz. A red LED matched to a red laser diode (by trial) work well together, and a LED as a sensor has a