very very basic help with diode problem

gerryr1gerryr

Joined May 24, 2011
As you can guess from the question I have no knowledge of Electronics but I do need help.

Are there different diodes for AC and DC?

I have a system (Irrigation)that worked on manual operation for years on 24VDC with no problems from the diodes.

Recently I changed it to 24VAC so that I could incorporate a programmable timer .

The diodes are used to stop current backfeed on the common pump start circuit and various warning lights.

The diodes function perfectly on 24VDC but fail(permit backfeed) on 24VAC.

The backfeed readings Im getting on the diodes are

24VAC input 24 VAC backfeed 13.7VAC
24VDC input 24VDC backfeed nil

These readings were from loose diodes (Straight out of the pack and not put in the circuits)

Can anyone help

Thanks

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The ratings for diodes are PIV (peak inverse voltage, how much voltage they will take in reverse) and current. Both are important. You don't need to worry too much about AC or DC as long as the ratings are equal to or exceed the two I just named.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
A diode will only block voltage (and current flow) on one half of the AC cycle. I think you will need a different approach.

gerryr1gerryr

Joined May 24, 2011
Thanks Ron.

Has anyone got any suggestions.

What I need is a device to stop the AC current from backfeeding in the way the diodes originally blocked the DC current.
The Diodes I am using are N4007 1000V 1A DO41
ZR1008.These diodes worked perfectly using the original 24VDC current. It was only when I changed to AC that the problem occured.

Thanks

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Diodes block DC CURRENT

They cannot block AC CURRENT. One half of the AC voltage will always get through the diodes. You need to reconsider your choice to use AC voltage, and select a timer that functions on DC VOLTAGE

hobbyist

Joined Aug 10, 2008