Very stable power supply from USB to UV LED

smilem

Joined Jul 23, 2008
I'm I'm trying to find out how to make a stable power supply for UV LED.

It should be able to feed the LED from destops and laptops and remove any fluctutations that can influence LED brightness.

The UV LED will be used with spectrophotometer to measure various papers for UV brighteners etc.

The LED I'm going to use is:

OA-260019 LED UV 5mm (781)
http://www.elfa.se/pdf/75/07500366.pdf

I know the basic electronic parts etc but I'm not very experienced so please bear with me. Thanks with for your time.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The easiest way to make a constant current source is using an LM317 or LM317L with a resistor from the output to the adjust terminal, and take the current output from the adjust terminal.

Iout = 1.25v/R
Alternatively, R = 1.25v/Iout
Since you need 15mA, R = 83.333... Ohms.
You could get close to that resistance by using a 75 Ohm and 8.2 Ohm resistor in series, or 75 Ohm and 9.1. It depends upon how close the tolerance of your resistors are.

You'll need to determine the wattage required of your resistors.
P = E^2/R, or Power in Watts = Voltage Squared / Resistance in Ohms.
Voltage = 1.25
In this case, since the value of resistance is so large, even 1/10 Watt resistors will be adequate.

One problem is that your uV LED's have a typical Vf of 3.9. The LM317/LM317L will have around a 3v drop across them, which means you'll need at least 7v to supply your LEDs. If you're planning on using a USB port to power your device, this isn't going to work - unless you have a DC-DC boost converter.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

When you want to use the USB port for the led, there is a led-driver with buildin dc-dc converter.
See attached datasheet.

Greetings,
Bertus

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007