Very simple questions about transistors, voltage drop, and why Im killing transistors

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by poopscoop, Dec 12, 2012.

1. poopscoop

Thread Starter Member

Dec 12, 2012
    I am an extreme beginner, and started experimenting and reading 2 days ago. Any input is appreciated, and please don't assume I know anything because I don't. Attached is my circuit diagram.

The idea is that while the switch is open, the final transistor will be closed(Non conducting). When the switch is open, the second transistor conducts, pulling the base of the third transistor to ground and making it non-conductive. When the switch closes and current flows, it pulls the second transistor's base to ground, shutting it completely, forcing the third transistor's base to a positive voltage, opening the gate and allowing the full current (Minus the voltage drop of the transistor) into the buzzer.

For a reason I don't understand, when I didn't have a resistor on the base of the first transistor I kept burning it out. I have no idea why 9v unimpeded would destroy that transistor. Any ideas?

If I add another transistor between the second and the third, effectively making a darlington pair out of the final 2, would the final transistor attached to the buzzer conduct more completely and increase the current available?

Is there a way to replace the final transistor with a FET? Would there be any advantage to doing that?

Thanks a ton,
    Poopscoop

2. antonv

Nov 27, 2012
    The transistor's base-emitter junction is a diode, for your purposes it does not limit current and it is fully on at 0.6 V or so. With 9 V applied it will allow as much current to flow as the battery will supply, and so be destroyed.

Without knowing how much current the buzzer needs and what kinds of transistors you are using it's hard to say if another would help.

A MOSFET can certainly be used but again, it may be better or not depending on the size of the buzzer.

3. poopscoop