Very simple circuit - and still stuck

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by pianolife, Dec 30, 2012.

1. pianolife

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 15, 2012
    Dear members of AllAboutCircuits, I am really sorry for asking such a simple question, but I am really a newbie in electronics.

For the circuit shown in the attachment, what value of RL will result in maximum power transfer? Determine the maximum power dissipated in RL.

What I know is that the max power transfer is when Rs=RL. I started to find the total Rs. But:
    - shall I consider the 1Ω resistor in parallel or in series? If I "get rid" of the load, that resistor become in series with 2Ω.
    - assuming this is in parallel, is there any specific order to find the total resistance? I mean, if I calculate 3Ω||4Ω then in series with 2Ω I get a value, if I find 4Ω||2Ω then in series with 3Ω I get obviously a different one.
    Which is correct?

Please forgive me for this question.
    Thank you so much.

All the best

2. panic mode

Oct 10, 2011
    correct, max power transfer is when RL matches internal resistance of the source.

there are different ways to do this. one common way is to use Thevenin.
    when circuit is open and without RL, you get certain voltage out. this is your Eth.

when you short output, current will not flow through 1Ohm because path of least resistance is the short. you need to calculate that short circuit current.
    then you can divide the two results to get Rth which will be same value as RL you are looking for.

Rth=Eth / Isc

Eth= Thevenin voltage
    Isc = short circuit current
    Rth = thevenin resistance

3. mbohuntr

Apr 6, 2009
    Draw the flow of current using arrows, and things will get clearer. ALL current must pass thru the left side 2Ω resistor, all other resistors are in parallel to it. The total resistance will be 2Ω + (4 Ω parallel with 3 Ω)

4. pianolife

Nov 15, 2012
    Thank you very very much.