Very new at PLC programming need a lot of help

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by Dorrance, Jul 7, 2011.

1. Dorrance

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 19, 2011
    Hello I have been working as an electrical maintenance technician for about 15 years. I am very familiar with PLC's but in all my years I haven't found anyone who could teach me programming. I do know and understand ladder logic. So I bought an Allen Bradley micrologix 1000, I got this one because it is out dated, has all AC inputs, and Rockwell gives a free version of micro lite for programming. my first problem (but sure not my last LOL) is that the AB 1000 takes a serial DB9 plug on my laptop I run windows vista and all I have are USB ports. I have a Trip light USB to serial converter model U209-000-R but I haven’t had any luck with sinking. I am unsure if the converter works? All I know is I can’t get any communication from the PLC. Could someone help?

2. davebee

Oct 22, 2008
    I'd suggest checking that the right COM number is in the PC code.

I've used a USB to serial converter to program a microcontroller, and it worked pretty well except for two things.

First, where the built-in serial ports used to come up as COM1 or COM2, the USB ports come up in all sorts of varieties - COM7, COM8, COM9, and it can change if other USB devices get added to the USB hub before connecting the microcontroller programmer.

So every time I start a new programming session, I've got to check that the program is configured with the current correct COM number.

Second, while I'm programming my serial device, if I plug a new USB device like a printer into the hub, the adapter will send a glitch to the serial device. It isn't fatal but in my case, it resets the microcontroller unexpectedly, so it isn't really desired behavior.

Dorrance likes this.
  3. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    +1