very BEGINNER Electronics Set-up

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bdeedles, Oct 11, 2010.

1. bdeedles

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 11, 2010
    I'm brand new to learning electronics and am setting up my own lab at home. I have a DC power source, breadboard, multimeter, and picoscope (pc oscilloscope w/AWG) and various components. I am confused with how to use the AWG; can I power my breadboard with this and the power source together?
    What does this do exactly?

2. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    AWG - is that Arbitrary Waveform Generator?

If so you would not use this to "power" circuits - rather you would most likely use it as a test source to (say) apply a signal as input to a circuit, such as an audio amplifier. You may for instance want to measure the amplifier gain between the amplifier input and output.

You normally "power" circuits from a low voltage DC supply.

bdeedles likes this.
  3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    You typically power your breadboard/circuits,etc... with your "DC power source"
    Walk before you even try to run.
    The AWG will just sit collecting dust for months.. There are TONS of projects to do before you need that.

4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    A lot of the projects are how to generate waveforms, unless you plan on sticking with something like digital processing.

5. someonesdad

Jul 7, 2009
    You have more equipment than a typical beginner has (though that's not a bad thing). I recommend you start learning DC circuits. Start with the AAC tutorial volume 1 and do the experiments in volume 6.

If you're interested in learning more about AWGs, here's a tutorial that might help (click on the link to the article on function generators and AWGs). There's also an application note on power supplies which might be useful.

bdeedles likes this.
  6. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008