Velleman PMLED connections

doug3460

Joined Oct 19, 2008
Hi all -

Apologies if this is a total newb problem, but I don't want to ruin the meter. Trying to upgrade to an LED panel meter on my power supply but am having a bit of a problem understanding the instructions. Spent a couple hours Googling it, but can't find anything other than the instructions I have in hand. In order to set the meter for a specific max voltage & to set the decimal point, the directions read:

To set the proper voltage divider:

"Disconnect wire jumper in RB.
RB = 9.9MΩ; RA = 100kΩ."

To set the decimal point:

"Short-circuit P2 - P0"

Problems:

I don't see any "wire" in RB. There are SMT resistors in RA & RB. The solder holes for the shunts are above & below them, so it's clear where to solder in the new resistors. But am I to remove the RB SMT resistor? There is a track line visible beneath the surface of the PCB that runs from the bottom solder point up into RB, but it doesn't make sense to me to have to cut the board.:confused:

There is nothing on either side of the board labelled "P0." P1, P2 & P3 locations are clearly marked. P1 has a thick solder bridge in it already. Is "P0" unmarked because it is the row of solder pads below the labeled ones? Do I just connect a jumper in the P2 slot?

Thanks for any assistance.

Doug

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
They hint there is a manual somewhere. What is the specific model you bought, and whom did you buy it from? I suspect pictures would be good, since they don't seem to care.

Last edited:

doug3460

Joined Oct 19, 2008
Bill_Marsden wrote:
They hint there is a manual somewhere. What is the specific model you bought, and whom did you buy it from? I suspect pictures would be good, since they don't seem to care.