Variactor when to use it/frequency range

Leo Silver

Joined Apr 27, 2016
Hello everyone,
once again I will need your help. I have never used a variactor before but a colleague of mine insists to use one for an application. I see that mostly if not always it is used in transmitters and receivers. I am wondering though if I can use it in lower frequencies kHz range.. I see that they lack stability as they vary with voltage but I need it as a compensating component. Do you think I could use it in the 100kHz frequency? Could you recommend me one from RS. I would really like to know more about this interesting use of a reversed biased diode.
Thank you

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I see that they lack stability as they vary with voltage
That's the main use of a varactor. This one can vary from about 35pf to 100pf.
If you want stability, use a capacitor.
If you want a tuning capacitor, the tank circuit must be designed so the range available in the varactor suits the range of frequencies you want.

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
The largest varactor diode I found in a quick search was this, designed for AM radio tuning.
It's available here.
You'll have to determine if that capacitance tuning range will work for your application.
Here's some info on varicaps (varactors).

Leo Silver

Joined Apr 27, 2016
Thank you for your replies. Unfortunately, I want to use a transformer to provide the voltage in my circuit and I only detect problems with the use of variactor. 1MHz frequency is too high and I am afraid it will increase any parasitic capacitancies in my topology and also transformer working at such high frequency...is it possible? Also I see that the applied ac voltage at the varactor has to stay in low levels (some mV) to avoid changes in the capacitance, noise and harmonic distortion.