Variable frequency pulsed generator

BillHil

Joined Nov 3, 2013
I am a beginner to electronic field. I am trying to build a variable frequency pulse generator. I am doing some basic research on the relationship between frequency, pulse rate, and bone growth. I want the frequency pulse generator to be in the 1.0 to 500.0 Hz range with the ability to vary the pulse rate per second from 1 to 100. I want the frequency probe to have a DC voltage from 5 to 12 volts and the frequency probe tip to be no larger than 2 mm. Any help you can provide would be appreciated. Thank you.

BillHil

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
I want the frequency probe to have a DC voltage from 5 to 12 volts
Do you mean just one fixed voltage in that range, or a user-selectable voltage, or a ramped voltage?
What current must the probe provide?
What safety measures are mandatory to protect the patient?

Edit:
If, for example, the pulse frequency is 1Hz you can't have a repetition rate > 1 per sec. Can you specify your requirements more clearly?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Are there references you read that inspired you to dabble in this? I mean, is there a specific device or treatment regime you want to replicate?

We need more details to be able to offer better advice.

adam555

Joined Aug 17, 2013
I am a beginner to electronic field. I am trying to build a variable frequency pulse generator. I am doing some basic research on the relationship between frequency, pulse rate, and bone growth. I want the frequency pulse generator to be in the 1.0 to 500.0 Hz range with the ability to vary the pulse rate per second from 1 to 100. I want the frequency probe to have a DC voltage from 5 to 12 volts and the frequency probe tip to be no larger than 2 mm. Any help you can provide would be appreciated. Thank you.

BillHil
The simplest way will probably be using a 555. You can use this as a starting point: http://www.eleccircuit.com/simple-pulse-generator-by-ic-555-timer/

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008