Vacuum solenoid control circuit

Discussion in 'Automotive Electronics' started by Camos, Jul 16, 2016.

1. Camos

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 16, 2016
    Hey newbie here and hoping to draw on the expertise of the members here.
    I am in the process of putting a big v8 in my Hilux and want to make sure it sounds the part. That in mind, I bought some HSV mufflers that are bi-modal meaning they have a vacuum actuator that opens a bypass causing them to be really awesome - big smiley face.

So I am wanting to make a small simple circuit to trigger a solenoid to use engine vacuum to operate the actuator making car sound great and put smile on Camos face.

The car is drive by wire meaning the accelerator pedal is a petentiometer but only has a 5v signal to the engine computer.

My outcome is to have the mufflers in 3
    Modes:
    Off - quiet to keep the neighbors happy early in the morning and sneaking home late at night.
    On - always loud
    Auto - at low throttle position is quiet and when you bury the pedal (say 70%+) they automagically open.

My concern is the signal is low voltage and would be extremely sensitive so don't want to disrupt that causing driving issues.

Have read on the forum about comparators, would this be the way to go or are there other ways to achieve big smile?

Thanks in advance.

2. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    Is this legal on your planet?

3. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    It certainly wouldn't be legal in the UK!

4. tcmtech

Nov 4, 2013
    No one would care here in the North Dakota.:p

That said, Yes a simple power Op-Amp working as a voltage comparator to trigger your solenoid that supplies the vacuum to the muffler cutout would work just fine.