V-F Converter cct

Switch_639

Joined Dec 27, 2009
I didn´t know where else to post, I am new here... if its wrong forum tell me... I am a student and have some questions on this circuit...

here it is...
http://i531.photobucket.com/albums/dd351/Switch_639/V-FConverter-1.jpg

how do I adjust the gain with the 2K rheostat and know its correct? also the optional offset adjust of the OPAMP, when is this correct? at moment I have the cct built... I am getting output at pin3 of LM331... its a small signal around +/- 1V...

any help will be appreciated... I can not get a square wave pulse on oscilloscope either, but I might be trying to read it in incorrect manner...

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
First of all, get the data sheet for the device. Just Google "lm331". The data sheet should explain how to adjust the composite value of Rs (the 2K control is a variable resistor) for the desired gain. You can never hope to understand a device without its data sheet.

One suspects that the gain adjustment relates to the frequency scaling according to the applied voltage. That setting will let you set the frequency out as some linear relationship to the input voltage.

You probably do not have a voltage on the one side of the 10K pullup resistor. The LM331 has an open collector output. If working with logic, that resistor should be connected to the logic Vcc. If not, any old voltage within the working limits (given by the data sheet) will do fine.

Switch_639

Joined Dec 27, 2009
I have checked the data sheet of the LM331... does not really tell me much... with that pull up resistor... are you saying its the reason I can not see the pulses on the oscilloscope? so its needed for me to read the frequency? anything you can add about the optional offset adjust on the Op-amp? thanks for input on reply...

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
If the output is open collector, you must add a voltage as I said in order for there to be an output waveform.