UV LED Skull Project (pls hlp)

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by akirablaid, Dec 14, 2013.

1. akirablaid

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 14, 2013
    I recently started a project, to create a glowing UV lamp out of a Crystal Head vodka bottle.

[​IMG]

I mean to put a number of UV LEDs in the top, or neck, of the bottle and to use quinine/highlighter or something else to refract and cause it to glow.

Anyways I'm new to wiring and my first attempt fried all the LEDs. I could really use some help determining how to wire it up.

First attempt:
    I used 4 of these: http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3107633
    And 1 of these: http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102514
    For my power source I used this, cut and stripped: http://www.amazon.com/Original-Sunny-Power-Adapter-1-5a/dp/B004WAVFXK

I understand that if I'd supplied the power (+/-) in the wrong order nothing would have occured. So for some reason it just supplied too much power and blew the system. On the breadboard they were wired parallel, but I can make them parallel or series. I'm just not sure any longer about the capacitor I used, or the power source, or what would work better.

2. Shagas

May 13, 2013
    I'm guessing you have no prior experience with electronics.
    An LED is always connected with a series resistor called a current limiting resistor
    because the LEDs themselves cannot limit their current (unlike filament light bulbs for example).
    I suggest you google "How to wire Leds" or something similar and study the subject for half an hour at least before trying to wire up those leds again and feel free to ask any questions you have.

3. akirablaid

Dec 14, 2013