Using safe and correct wiring and fuses for portable 12v power source

Kevislost

Joined Jan 2, 2017
Hello all,

The name is Kevin. I am an all around diy type of person. Most of my background is in finish carpenty and my college education is in Ecology. If you need more info than that about me just ask.

I have been working on a little project that is best described as a portable 12v power bank primarily for use with small electronics. (Several children with phones & tablets, a wife who cannot live without a social media, etc). Here is the lowdown:

> 36amp hour (2 x 18ah) SLA-AGM deep cycle batteries by Mighty Max
> 20Amp max JVR TL49 PWMsolar charge controller
> 20watt 1.15 amp 12v solar panel (to be expanded to 4 panels that will be folded up and stored when not in use)
> 12v accessory outlet
> 12v/ 5v USBports 1x 1.1a and 1x 2.1a (future plans to add another of these on for multiple tablets/phones)
>400watt inverter
> SAE battery connector for 1amp trickle/ maintenance charger.
> All this is neatly contained inside a small, portable, locking plastic crate with an o-ring to prevent moisture doing damage.
>future LED 12v work light.

Now, for the most part, I tried to research and size things appropriately. Really, this is more of a "fun" project than anything serious. But as an emergency preparedness tool (72hour kit kinda thing, not long term), or entertainment (small projector) for an out door movie night, this thing has posibilities.

Where I am needing a little guidance is in wiring and safety.

The exterior wiring is taken care of. I oversized the solar panel wiring to 10awg (PV, outdoor uv resistant etc). Basically that leaves plenty of room for expanding the solar panels to about 4.60 amps if I stick with my current panel (1.15amps) and get 3 more. Or more with bigger panels (100w x 2). So now moving inside the box.

I started with simply making sure I had an inline fuse on each line: