Using PIC 24F to monitor current

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by junjia04, Mar 19, 2010.

1. junjia04

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 19, 2010
    I am using PIC24F family, and I am trying to monitor the current of 4 different loads, can I use the same method that mentioned above and just feed each different load to different Analog input

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    This thread has been dead for a long time.
    Start a new thread with your question. Post a link to this thread for helpful reference material.

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
  4. junjia04

Mar 19, 2010
    thanks for open a new thread for me
    I am starting a new microcontroller project and i am still in the hardware design stage. I am completely new to microcontroller, so I just want to have some opinions or things need to watchout
    I am still reading the manual of the IC, and I am planning to use the 44 pin PIC24 family:
    16 Digital I/O pins will use to control LEDs to indicates Activity of 8 devices, assuming the circuit is going to very straight forward, just diodes and resistors.
    8 Analog Pin out to measure the current through the 8 devices, using current sensing resistors
    USB OTG device to control the microprocessor
    no external oscillator or eeprom is going to be used
    anything i miss? what's need to be watchout for?

5. junjia04

Mar 19, 2010
    anyone any ideas?

6. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Everything should be in the datasheet. But watch out for some standards.. Use protection diodes and be sure to use caps to decouple and bypass. You may want to use mean averages for your ADC samples. They will change quite a bit from sample to sample so take 16 put them in descending order, lose the top four and bottom four and get the mean average of the remaining eight. That will give you greater accuracy and account for transients and the such.